> LOG IN   > REGISTER

SBI-DS_Centre_01_506x80

BMD-4M for russian paratroopers

     Russian paratrooper units have begun testing on the new BMD-4M armored vehicles. A pre-series of ten BMD-4Ms were ordered in 2012, the first of which started intensive evaluation trials.

2014-fev-17 BMD-4M_59

Photo credit : VgTZ

 

     Russian paratroopers units have begun testing of the new BMD-4M armored vehicle. Parallel to the revalorization of the older generation within their vehicle park, the paras are looking to acquire a new vehicle. A pre-series of ten BMD-4Ms were ordered in 2012, the first of which started, since the 1st of December 2013, intensive evaluation trials.

     The BMD- 4M prototype was unveiled in 2008, it has a new tracked frame with five guide rollers, strongly resembling the BMP-3 infantry vehicle. The weapon systems of the BMD- 4M is identical to its predecessor, the BMD- 4. It is equipped with a 100 mm gun with anti-tank missile firing capabilities combined with a tandem fully automatic 30 mm cannon and a coaxial 7.62 mm machine gun. The weight of the BMD- 4M is maintained at 13.5 t to remain airborne with the existing multiple dome parachute system. If necessary, the vehicle may be equipped with additional armor plating.

     The team of former Russian defense minister Anatoly Serdukov was opposed to this project and only the persistence of the commander of the paratrooper forces, General Vladimir Shamanov, permitted to save the project. Since the arrival of the new minister, Sergei Shoigu, the program BMD- 4M has received the green light for the pre-series and its possible commission.

Share on FacebookShare on Twitter+1Pin it on PinterestShare via email
NEXTER_02UK_TITUS
Defense Systems
New Technical Specs
  • Mbombe

    Mbombe

    South African wheeled 6x6 Armored Personnel Carrier vehicle Mbombe
  • MLI-84M

    MLI-84M

    Romanian armored infantry fighting vehicle MLI-84M Jderul
  • Mi-28 (Havoc)

    Mi-28 (Havoc)

    The Russian attack helicopter Mi-28 Havoc
  • TPz1 Fuchs

    TPz1 Fuchs

    The German Armoured Personnel Carrier TPz1 Fuchs _updated_
  • Challenger 2

    Challenger 2

    The British main battle tank Challenger 2
  • PL-01

    PL-01

    Projet of Polish light tank PL-01
Partners
_SBI-DS_Database08heli_302x80

COGES-02-carte-302x80

Legion-01bord
Print Partners
_SBI-DS_Database03vhl_302x80

TTU_01_302x80

Raids_302x80

> CONNEXION   > INSCRIPTION

SBI-DS_Centre_04_506x80

BMD-4M pour les paras russes

-

Les unités de parachutistes russes ont débuté les tests du nouveau blindé BMD-4M.

-

2014-fev-17 BMD-4M_59

BMD-4M . Photo credit : VgTZ

 

     Les unités de parachutistes russes ont débuté les tests du nouveau blindé BMD-4M. Parallèlement à la revalorisation du parc des véhicules d’ancienne génération, les paras cherchent à acquérir un nouvel engin. Une pré-série de dix BMD-4M a été commandée en 2012, dont les premiers ont entamé depuis le 1er décembre 2013 une campagne d’évaluation intensive.

     Le prototype du BMD-4M a été dévoilé en 2008, il possède un nouveau châssis chenillé à cinq galets fortement unifié avec le véhicule d’infanterie BMP-3. Le système d’arme du BMD-4M est identique à son prédécesseur, le BMD-4. Il inclut un canon de 100 mm aux capacités de tir missile antichar jumelé au canon automatique de 30 mm et à une mitrailleuse coaxiale de 7,62 mm. Le poids du BMD-4M est maintenu à 13,5 t pour être parachutable avec les systèmes multicoupoles existants. Au besoin, le véhicule peut être équipé d’un surblindage additionnel.

     L’équipe de l’ancien ministre russe de la défense, Anatoli Serdukov, s’était opposé à ce projet et seule l’obstination du commandant des forces des parachutistes, le général Vladimir Chamanov, avait permis de sauver le projet. Depuis l’arrivée du nouveau ministre, Sergueï Choïgou, le programme des BMD-4M a reçu le feu vert pour la pré-série et sa possible mise en service.

Share on FacebookShare on Twitter+1Pin it on PinterestShare via email
NEXTER_01FR_CAESAR
Matériel Militaire
Nouvelles fiches
  • BMD-3

    BMD-3

    Véhicule blindé de combat de l’infanterie aéroportées russe BMD-3
  • BMD-2

    BMD-2

    Véhicule blindé de combat de l’infanterie aéroportées russe BMD-2
  • BMD-1

    BMD-1

    Véhicule blindé de combat de l’infanterie aéroportées russe BMD-1
  • RS-122

    RS-122

    Lance-Roquette Multiple géorgien RS-122
  • AT4

    AT4

    Lance-roquette antichar suédois AT4
  • BTR-82/BTR-82A

    BTR-82/BTR-82A

    Véhicule blindé de transport de troupe russe BTR-82/BTR-82A
Partenaires
GICAT_01min

COGES-02-carte-302x80

Legion-01bord
Partenaires édition
KB_01_302x100

TTU_01_302x80

Raids_302x80