> LOG IN   > REGISTER

SBI-DS_Centre_03_506x80

American SOF in Iraq

 

American Special Operations
Forces in Iraq.

 

US SOF 001

Photo: US SOF

     Even if the Obama administration has said « no » to air-raids against the ISIL militants, auto-baptized an Islamic State, Washington has decided to send a detachment of SOF (Special Operations Forces) to “council” the Iraqi security forces.

     The contingent is made up of, for the moment, 500 USSOCOM personnel, notably the Green Berets and Rangers from the USASOC, spread out over 10 different operators (ODA for Operational Detachment Alpha) as well as SEALS from the NAVSPECWARCOM (JSOTF know as SEAL Team Six). They will be deployed around Bagdad and in the North with a double mission: give council and aid the Iraqi commandment counterattack the jihadist offensive from the ISIL/Islamic State towards the capitol and give real time information on the ground situation.

     For certain experts the mission of the SOF American could also include information gathering to localize and spot High Value Target objectives, command posts and troop concentrations for eventual air-strikes.

 

US SOF 002

Photo: US SOF

Share on FacebookShare on Twitter+1Pin it on PinterestShare via email
NEXTER_01UK_CAESAR
Defense Systems
New Technical Specs
  • M1 Abrams

    M1 Abrams

    The American main battle tank M1 Abrams
  • M1126 Stryker

    M1126 Stryker

    The American wheeled Armored Personnel Carrier M1126 Stryker
  • Mi-28 (Havoc)

    Mi-28 (Havoc)

    The Russian attack helicopter Mi-28 Havoc
  • M60

    M60

    The American main battle tank M60
  • MILAN

    MILAN

    The French-German anti-tank guided missile MILAN
  • 2S3 Akatsiya

    2S3 Akatsiya

    The Russian self-propelled howitzer 2S3 Akatsiya
Partners
_SBI-DS_Database08heli_302x80

COGES-02-carte-302x80

Legion-01bord
Print Partners
_SBI-DS_Database03vhl_302x80


Raids_302x80

> CONNEXION   > INSCRIPTION

MBDA 01 blanc
L'image du jour
SBI-DS_Centre_04_506x80

Des SOF américaines en Irak

 

Des Special Operations Forces américaines en Irak.

 

US SOF 001

Photo: US SOF

 

     Si l’administration Obama a dit “non” au raids aériens contre les miliciens de l’EIIL, auto-rebaptisé Etat islamique, Washington a cependant décidé d’envoyer en Irak un détachement SOF, Special Operations Forces, pour “conseiller” les forces de sécurité irakienne.

     Il s’agirait, pour l’instant, de 500 éléments de l’USSOCOM, notamment des bérets verts et des rangers de l’USASOC, répartis en détachements opérationnels d’une dizaines d’opérateurs ODA, Operationnal Detachment Alpha, ainsi que de SEALs du NAVSPECWARCOM (voire du JSOTF, donc du SEAL Team Six). Ceux-ci seront déployés dans les environs de Bagdad et dans le nord du pays, avec une double mission: conseiller et aider le commandement irakien à contrecarrer l’offensive des jihadistes de l’EIIL/Etat islamique vers la capitale et fournir à Washington toutes les informations en temps réel de la situation sur le terrain.

     Pour certains experts, la mission des SOF américaines pourrait inclure également la récolte d’informations pour le repérage et la localisation d’objectifs sensibles ou HTV, High Value Target, postes de commandement, concentrations de troupes ou autres, en prévision d’éventuelle frappes aériennes ciblées.

US SOF 002

Photo: US SOF

 

Share on FacebookShare on Twitter+1Pin it on PinterestShare via email
NEXTER_01FR_CAESAR
Matériel Militaire
Nouvelles fiches
  • CM-32 Yunpao

    CM-32 Yunpao

    Véhicule blindé de combat à roues 8x8 taïwanais CM-32 Yunpao
  • AH-1Z Viper

    AH-1Z Viper

    Hélicoptère d'attaque américain AH-1Z Viper
  • Cougar

    Cougar

    Véhicule blindé de reconnaissance canadien Cougar
  • AMX-40

    AMX-40

    Projet du char de combat français AMX-40
  • BRDM Stalker 2T

    BRDM Stalker 2T

    Projet du véhicule blindé de reconnaissance biélorusse BRDM Stalker 2T
  • M901 ITV

    M901 ITV

    Véhicule blindé de combat antichar américain M901 ITV
Partenaires
GICAT_01min

COGES_01_302x80

Legion-01bord
Partenaires édition
KB_01_302x100

TTU_01_302x80

Raids_302x80